President Ram Nath Kovind confers Padma Awards 2020

Olympian badminton player PV Sindhu receives Padma Bhushan; former Union ministers Arun Jaitley, George Fernandes and Sushma Swaraj conferred with Padma Vibhushan posthumously along with Classical singer Pandit Chhannulal Mishra

Prime News, National, New Delhi, November 8:- Former Union ministers  Arun Jaitley, George Fernandes and Sushma Swaraj were conferred with Padma Vibhushan posthumously along with Classical singer Pandit Chhannulal Mishra.

President Ram Nath Kovind on Monday (November 8) conferred the Padma Awards 2020 at Rashtrapati Bhawan here.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Union External Affairs Minister Dr S Jaishankar among the attendees.

Arun Jaitley’s wife Sangeeta Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj’s daughter Bansuri Swaraj received the honour from the President.

Olympian badminton player P V Sindhu received Padma Bhushan.

Prominent personalities who were given Padma Shri include captain of women’s hockey team Rani Rampal, singer Adnan Sami, former head scientist of ICMR Dr Raman Gangakhedhkar, Bollywood actress Kangna Ranaut, environmentalist Himmataram Bhambhu and veteran theatre and television artiste Sarita Joshi.

Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities, viz – art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year. However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and other restrictions imposed to control the outbreak of the pandemic, the physical conferral was delayed.

The government had announced 141 Padma Awards on the eve of Republic Day in 2020.  The list comprises seven Padma Vibhushan, 16 Padma Bhushan and 118 Padma Shri awards. (Inputs: Agencies, NGB)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles