Ram Nath Kovind vs Meira Kumar: Presidential counting and result today

Prime News, National, New Delhi, July 20: The Presidential counting will take place today, following which the fourteenth President of India will be announced.

The candidate who secures at least one vote more than 50 per cent of the total votes will enter into the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The election was held on July 17 and around 99 per cent voting was recorded.

President Pranab Mukherjee will demit the office on July 25.

Congress-led opposition nominated Meira Kumar is contesting versus National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Ram Nath Kovind for the presidential race.

Both Kovind and Kumar are from the Dalit community and have canvassed hard by visiting states to seek support of legislators.

Ballot boxes from 29 state capitals and the Union territory of Puducherry have reached Parliament House amid tight security.

The Presidential election on July 17 saw 100 percent polling of 11 states. A total of 771 members of Parliament and 4,109 legislators were eligible to cast votes.

-(NGB, Inputs: Agencies)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles