Rukmini Madegowda of JD(S) elected Mayor of Mysuru; Congress’ Anwar Baig is Deputy Mayor

Mysuru, February 24:- In a surprise move, the Congress extended unconditional support to Janata Dal (Secular) in the Mysuru Mayoral elections and the JD(S) candidate Rukmini Madegowda was elected as the new mayor.

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s hopes of installing its candidate as the new mayor of Mysuru City Corporation (MCC) was dashed with a sudden turn of events at the voting venue.

An elated Madegowda, husband of Rukmini, carries her on being elected as the new Mayor of Mysuru












Rukmini Madegowda of JD(S) from MCC Ward 36 was elected as the 23rd Mayor of Mysuru on Wednesday (February 24). She secured 43 votes while Anwar Baig of Congress from MCC Ward 10 secured 43 votes to become the new Deputy Mayor.

BJP’s mayoral candidate Sunanda Palanethra managed to secure 26 votes and Satvik Sandesh Swamy, also of the BJP for the deputy mayor’s post, secured 26 votes.

BJP MP Pratap Simha, MLAs S A Ramadass, L Nagendra, Tanveer Sait, MLCs Marithibbegowda and K T Srikantegowda cast their votes in the mayoral polls.

Chamundeshwari Constituency MLA G T Devegowda and MLC Sandesh Nagaraj were absent.

Mysuru Regional Commissioner J C Prakash was the election officer. MCC Commissioner Shilpa Nag was present.

It may be recalled that the District-in-charge Minister S T Somashekar had held talks with JD(S) MLA Sa Ra Mahesh recently seeking support of JD(S) for the BJP mayoral candidate. Mysuru-Kodagu Member of Parliament Pratap Simha had also held talks with JD(S) leaders, seeking support for the party candidate.

Congress MLA of Narasimharaja Constituency Tanveer Sait had also held discussions with JD(S) legislator Mahesh to retain the Congress- JD(S) alliance in the MCC.

In the 73-member council of Mysuru City Corporation, the BJP has 22 corporators, Congress has 19 and JD(S) 18, one BSP and five independents.

As per the understanding reached between the Congress and JD(S) in 2019, the former will get the mayor’s post in 1st and 3rd term and the latter in the 2nd and last two years of the five-year term. (NAV, KS)


Leave a Reply



Related Articles