Shankara Cup Cricket Tournament inaugurated

Mysuru, May 25:- District Brahmins’ Association president DT Prakash inaugurated Shankara Cup Tennis Ball Cricket Tournament at Manasagangothri Ground here on Friday.

“This tournament is organised to unite Brahmin youths from across the state. We are happy that teams from 20 districts are participating in the tournament. Players are being provided with food and accommodation. The winning team will receive a cash prize of Rs 30,000, runners-up will get Rs 20,000 and third prize winner Rs 10,000. ‘Man of the tournament’ award will also be given,” he said.

“We welcome the decision of of the state government to introduce Brahmins’ Development Board and Shankaracharya jayanti. But Brahmins require caste certificate and documents for getting jobs and it has to be introduced soon,” said former chairman of Mysuru Urban Development Authority (MUDA) K R Mohan Kumar.

Teams from Bengaluru, Chitradurga, Mandya, Hassan, Gokarna, Shivamogga, Hoysala Karnataka and other places are participating in the tournament.

Mayor Pushpalatha Jagannath, corporator M C Ramesh, Krishnadas Puranik, Umesh Sharma, Raghuram Vajapayee, K R Sathyanarayana, corporator M V Ramaprasad, Balakrishna, Gopinath, Apurva Suresh, H N Sridharamurthy, Vikram Iyengar, Mullur Guruprasad, Ajay Shastry and others were present. (SH, NGB)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles