Sitting BJP MPs won’t get Assembly tickets except BSY

Following the massive mandate in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which is anticipating victory in Karnataka in the 2018 Assembly polls, has begun its ground work on deciding not to field any sitting MPs, barring BJP state president and Lok Sabha member B S Yeddyurappa.

The BJP MPs including Shobha Karandlaje, Pratap Simha, B Sriramulu, Karadi Sanganna, Suresh Angadi, P C Mohan, Ananth Kumar Hegde and G M Siddeshwara have expressed their desire to fight Assembly polls by resigning from their Parliament seats.

BJP national president Amit Shah, who rejected the plea of certain MPs, has reportedly informed the BJP state leaders that Prime Minister Narendra Modi does not want by-polls for Lok Sabha seats, when the country is going to face general elections in 2019.

Meanwhile, Yeddyurappa having been declared as the chief ministerial candidate, will be allowed to contest the Assembly polls, Shah reportedly told the state leaders, asking the MPs to work hard for the victory of the party candidates in their respective Lok Sabha segments.

“Few of the MPs are desperately trying to become MLAs as they are feeling isolated in New Delhi as they are not well versed in Hindi.” Shah is likely to take the onus of distribution of tickets, instead of leaving it to state leaders.


Leave a Reply



Related Articles