South Teachers’ Constituency Election: Counting of votes to begin tomorrow in Mysuru

Marithibbegowda of JD(S), Cong’s M Lakshmana and BJP’s B Nirajana Murthy await for the results

Mysuru, June 11:- The results of the biennial election to the Karnataka Legislative Council for South Teachers’ Constituency will be announced on Tuesday in the city.

The counting of votes to the South Teachers’ Constituency held on Friday will commence from 8 am at the new Maharani’s Commerce and Management College on Valmiki Road in the city.

The results will decide the fate of Janata Dal (Secular) candidate Marithibbegowda who is seeking re-election for the fourth time from South Teachers’ Constituency. As many as nine candidates contested from South Teachers’ Constituency, including three-time MLC and deputy chairman of the Legislative Council Marithibbegowda.

The Congress party has fielded M Lakshmana as their candidate even though the Congress and the JD(S) are in alliance in the Assembly, while the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) candidate is B Niranjana Murthy.

Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer Munish Moudgil has been appointed as the Election Observer for South Teachers’ Constituency which recorded 80.80 per cent voting.

Addressing a press meet in the city on Monday, Regional Commissioner P Hemalatha who is also the Returning Officer said, “Entry at the counting centre is allowed to persons having the badges issued by ECI/RO and all the counting agents should be at the allotted counting tables. Mobile phone except for the officers and the staff is permitted by RO and other mobile phones or cameras are banned at the counting centre. The strong room will be opened at 7:30 am tomorrow (June 12) and the candidates/election agents are expected to be present before the strong room is open.”

435 persons to count votes

A total of 435 persons have been deployed for the smooth counting procedure. A total of 35 officers, 145 counting supervisors and assistants, 60 supporting counting personnel, 50 Group-D employees, 25 other staff and 120 police personnel are deployed for the counting of votes.

Counting process

The process of counting starts first with the postal ballot paper covers at the Returning Officer’s table, then the ballot boxes will be distributed to counting table for scrutiny and counted for numbers without scrutinising the contents and bundled in 25 ballot papers. After mixing of all the bundles of ballot papers, 500 ballot papers will be distributed to counting tables for separation of valid and invalid votes and for distribution of first preference votes to candidates. Later, the quota will be calculated then the further process of counting will be done at Returning Officer’s table. –(KK)


Leave a Reply


Related Articles