Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Jyothi Yatra begins

`Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Jyothi Yatra,’ a tableau was taken out to mark the birth centenary cel­ebrations of Sri Shivarathri Ra­jendra Swamiji of Suttur Mutt. It was flagged off on Thursday with religious fervor.

Hundreds of devotees from across the city thronged JSS Mahavidyapeetha were greet­ed by the sculpture of Nandi in front of the gates and artists performing Dollu Kunitha, Poo­ja Kunitha, Thamate.

Sri Shivarathri Deshikend­ra Mahaswamy pontiff of Sut­tur Mutt together with District In-charge Minister V Srinivas Prasad flagged off the event by offering prayers to the Nandi Dhwaja.

The tableau which was taken out in the main streets of the city, Srirangapattana will reach Paduvarahalli where it would halt for the day.

A tableau of depicting the Hoysala style of architecture inside which the life-size stat­ue of Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Swamy was installed drew the attention of the people. Old and new buildings of Sut­tur Mutt recreated at the tab­leau also drew the attention of the people.

A team of 20 volunteers will be accompanying the tab­leau, besides three other ve­hicles including mobile library in tow. The mobile library will offer various publications of the Mahavidyapeetha.

Page 2-2
The tableau housing seer Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Mahaswamy being taken out in front of the JSS Mahavidyapeetha.

Arrangements have been made to station the tableau at prominent places for the benefit of the devotees of the mutt. Various organisations have planned to organise lec­tures on the life and achieve­ments of the pontiff as a part of the yatra. District In-charge Minister V Srinivas Prasad said that the tableau would be traversing 5,000 km for 100 days covering most of the districts in the state, besides parts of neighbouring states such as Tamil Nadu, Kera­la, Maharashtra and Andhra Pradesh. Through the tableau, the principles and teachings of the seer will be highlighted.

Mayor B L Bhyrappa, Dep­uty Mayor Vanitha Prasanna, Chairman of MUDA K R Mo­han Kumar, former minister Shivanna, SP Abhinav Khare, former minister S A Ramadas, President of District Co-oper­ative H V Rajeev, former MP C H Vijayashankar, former Zilla Panchayat President Dr Pushpa B Amarnath and cor­porators were present.


Leave a Reply



Related Articles