State govt stable, no need to change leadership: ST Somashekar

Mysuru, May 30:- “MLAs of BJP met to discuss Legislative Council and Rajya Sabha elections. There is no other development other than this,” said district in-charge minister ST Somashekhar. He was speaking to media in the city on Saturday.

“Chief minister BS Yediyurappa is working effectively during the Covid-19 pandemic. There is no question of changing leadership. Out of 4 Rajya Sabha seats, we will get 2. 16 MLC posts are falling vacant. We will get 9 out of those. Demands have been forward by some districts and communities for the MLC post. Umesh Katti is also demanding the same. There is no need to misinterpret this,” he said.

“We are with H Vishwanath and MTB Nagaraj. We have all come together. We will naturally demand status for them. Muniratna and Pratap Gowda Patil will contest the election. We have discussed the same with the chief minister,” he said.

Responding to the statement of Ramesh Jarkiholi, who had apparently said he is ready to make 5 Congress MLAs to resign, ST Somashekhar looked visibly upset. “Has he been authorised to do so? Is it a game to do so? The state government is stable. We have a majority. The government is functioning well under the leadership of Yediyurappa. We are all happy. What is the need to bring anyone to under BJP fold now? We have a high command which will look after the issues,” he said.

“There is a demand to open hotels, malls and temples. We have already sent a request to the central government. We will get directions from the Centre within next few days,” he said.

“We have started a new initiative to provide loans to farmers. We are receiving good rains. DCC banks of all districts will be inspected to know the loans distributed. Officials have been allotted to all 21 DCC banks. They will inspect regarding the loans given, renewed. The loan provider will be held smoothly,” he added.

The minister distributed ration kits to pourakarmikas in front of Rangacharlu Memorial Town Hall. He was accompanied by MLA SA Ramadass, L Nagendra, Deputy Commissioner Abhiram G Sankar, MCC Commissioner Gurudutt Hegde and others. (MR/KS)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles