CricketHeadlinesInternational SportsNational Sports

T20I vs India: Narine, Pollard recalled to Windies squad

Prime News, International and National Sport, Cricket, St John’s (Antigua), July 23:- The veteran duo of Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard were on Tuesday recalled to a 14-member West Indies squad for the first two games of the three-match T20 International series against India, beginning August 3 at Florida in the United States.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Anthony Bramble is the only uncapped player in the squad selected for the first two T20Is to be played on August 3 and 4 at the Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida.

The selection panel could make changes to the squad for the third T20I on August 6 at the Guyana National Stadium, the West Indies Cricket Board said.

The squad, to be led by captain Carlos Brathwaite, also includes all-rounder Andre Russell subject to passing a fitness assessment prior to the series. Russell had made an early exit from the World Cup to undergo an operation on his troublesome left knee.

Interim chairman of the selection panel Robert Haynes said veteran opener Chris Gayle had notified that he was unavailable for the series due to playing commitments at the GT20 in Canada. This has given the opportunity for left-handed compatriot John Campbell to fill the slot.

Left-handed opener John Campbell and left-arm spinner Khary Pierre have also been included alongside a number of regulars, as the interim selection panel seeks to explore options with the ICC T20 World Cup looming next year in Australia.

“This squad is an excellent balance of experience and youth. It is not just about the present — the India Tour of the West Indies — but we are also looking at the T20 World Cup coming up next year and it is important that we find the right combination of players and the right formula for defending our title,” said Haynes.

India play three ODIs and two Tests against the West Indies after the T20Is.

West Indies squad for first two T20 Internationals: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Sunil Narine, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran (wicket-keeper), Rovman Powell, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas, Anthony Bramble (wk), John Campbell, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis. (Inputs: Agencies, NGB)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles