CricketHeadlinesInternational SportsNational Sports

Team India announced for ICC World Cup 2019

Dinesh Karthik replaces Rishabh Pant in the Indian squad

Prime News, National and International Sport, Cricket, Mumbai, April 15:- The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday announced Team India’s 15-member squad for the forthcoming ICC World Cup 2019 which will be hosted by England and Wales from May 30.

The batsmen features captain Virat Kohli, who currently tops the ICC batting rankings followed by second-ranked Rohit Sharma and his co-opener Shikhar Dhawan who is also among the top 15.

As expected, former Indian skipper MS Dhoni is a part of the England-bound squad. With the number four spot sparking most debates on its contention, it is KL Rahul who will be taking the place. Despite having impressed in his recent international outings, 21-year-old Rishabh Pant has been dropped in favour of the experienced Dinesh Karthik.

Team India for ICC World Cup 2019

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd Shami

India, the 1983 and 2011 world champions will kick start their campaign on June 5 against South Africa at the Hampshire Bowl in Southampton. The much-anticipated match against arch-rivals Pakistan will be at Old Trafford in Manchester on June 16.

The semi-finals of the tournament will be staged on July 9 and 11at Old Trafford in Manchester and Edgbaston in Birmingham respectively, while the iconic Lord’s will host the final for the fifth time on July 14. (Inputs: Agencies, NGB)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles