TN political drama: 18 MLAs backing Dinakaran disqualified

Political News, National (Chennai), September 18:-In what can be called a new twist to the political tale of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), the 18 MLAs, who had been backing the sidelined party leader, T T V  Dinakaran, have been disqualified by the Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker, P Dhanapal.

The MLAs have been disqualified with effect from today, under the 1986 Tamil Nadu Assembly Members Party Defection Law.

The disqualified MLAs include Thanga Tamilselvan, Senthil Balaji, P Vetrivel and K Mariappan.

The Dinakaran faction had earlier met the officials from the Election Commission and requested them to declare the recently-conducted general council meeting of the party null and void.

Vijila Sathyananth, of the Dinakaran faction, told the media here that the faction would soon hold a general council meet of the party after the consent of their general secretary V K Sasikala.

The faction also moved the Madras High Court on plea over a floor test in the Tamil Nadu assembly.

The AIADMK, in its general council meeting, had passed a resolution, according to which jailed party general secretary V K Sasikala stood expelled from the party and the post of the temporary general secretary forfeited.

The resolution further said that the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister, E Palanisamy and his deputy, O Panneerselvam, shall retrieve the party and its symbol.

Other terms of the resolution state that all announcements by T T V Dinakaran stand cancelled.


-(NAV, Inputs: Agencies)

Leave a Reply



Related Articles